Farewell to Deputy Board Chair Susan Johnson

West Moreton Health’s Deputy Board Chair has retired after seven years’ service while four sitting members have been reappointed.

Susan Johnson has been recognised by Board Chair Michael Willis for her contribution to health care in West Moreton, helping to drive reform and improvement initiatives to make services more accessible and efficient.

As the longest serving member of the current Board, Ms Johnson has overseen significant growth in services and demand since joining the Board in 2015.

“As the region’s population has increased, so too has demand for services, and I’ve been pleased to see the evolution of our health service as it has grown and changed the way care is delivered to better suit the needs of the community and ensure more people can access care close to home,’’ Ms Johnson said.

She cited the ongoing Master Plan progress, including the ongoing construction of a contemporary Acute Mental Health Unit and installation of Ipswich Hospital’s first Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) machine, as some of the great examples of meaningful improvements to patient outcomes within West Moreton in recent years.

Ms Johnson also praised West Moreton Health staff for their dedication, passion and genuine care for their community.

Ms Willis said Ms Johnson had brought considerable rigour and experience to the Board, particularly around effective governance and policy review, to ensure West Moreton Health was an inclusive, responsive health service with strong accountability for decision-making.

Ms Johnson’s retirement this week at the end of her term coincides with the reappointment of four fellow Board members, who will serve for another four years.

The reappointment of Stephen Robertson, Lyn Birnie, Professor Jeff Dunn AO and Dr Cathryn Hester was announced by the Minister for Health and Ambulance Services, Hon Yvette D'Ath, last week.

They join existing members including Mr Willis, Deanne Minniecon, Professor Gerald Holtmann, Sue Scheinpflug and Patricia Evatt, whose terms continue until 2024.

“I am proud to work alongside a diversely skilled team and we look forward to continuing to serve the needs of the West Moreton community,’’ Mr Willis said.

The next Deputy Board Chair will be announced in coming weeks.